The Princess of Possibilty

The chimes rang exactly at 3:15pm on my father in law’s ornate grandfather clock in my formal living room. The clock, gifted to my husband and I, stands alone in the extra long, empty room. The paint meticulously chosen to enhance the walls and elegance of the room is “French Canvas”. I complimented the color with “Simply White” on the fine portrait trim applied to the walls the entire room over sixty years ago. In America, the house is practically historic. So much time selected on a color palette for a space I have not finished decorating. Why? I am not quite certain what my “formal” taste is at this point of my life or if I actually have interior design taste. Frankly, the room is overwhelming.

The sound of the chimes is clear and loud with the French doors open to the foyer. As I sit in another room I feel a sudden, exciting pressure to begin this blog now and also continue writing my first novel. Oddly, the chimes remind me of the bells that will ring for Prince Harry and Meghan Markle tomorrow in London at the Royal Wedding and my work in progress (WIP) has a definite undertone of English civility and nobility. I am impatient for the royal wedding to begin and as excited as I was seeing Princess Diana walk down the aisle of Westminster Abbey when I was eleven years old. Royalty and tradition and history are alive but in a very new way.

Honestly, I never truly believed Ms. Markle would marry Prince Harry. Today however, I confess, as an American woman, I am filled with hope and possibility. In a few hours, a biracial, divorced, American actress will have penetrated centuries of formality which would historically disqualify her from ever hoping to marry into the British monarchy. Ms. Markle will prove that fairy tales do come true.

I need to know this important information about fairy tales right now. Ms. Markle has astonished me in her unwavering pursuit of the impossible. Now, my fairy tale, to write a novel and do it well, is possible. Actually, I want women to read my writing and fall in love with the characters that live in my head as much as I have and their unbelievable story. I am so confident my characters are special, I have kept them in my head for years and have enjoyed my relationship with them tremendously. Yet, I excel at starting and stopping my journey as a novelist for ridiculous reasons: the subject is too dreamy, my writing is too flowery, my need for gainful employment on this path is unreachable and simply, I am a terrible writer.

Often, I have thought the subject matter risque’ and possibly offensive to my husband, my mother and my family. I admit, the characters and the story I am creating do not fall in line with my formal education which includes a Master’s Degree in Theology. My characters are sinful, yet remorseful and so much fun to write.

The chimes ring again and another fifteen minutes have passed. A few minutes closer to an American woman making history by defying odds and tradition and history simply by marrying the man she loves who happens to be a prince.

I believe dreams do come true if only we open ourselves to the possibility that dreams are actually a vision of our future reality. We must stop entertaining the boring, restrained, traditional thinking we are taught and embrace the power of what can happen.

Recently, I read an article that stated a blog should attract like-minded people to your message and interests. Well, so far you know I have a home with at least one enormous empty “formal” room and a glorious grandfather clock that was my father in law’s dream to own. My walls are painted strictly in Benjamin Moore paints and my color palette is and sounds snobby and I love it.

My blog is an invitation into my life which isn’t perfect, but perfectly crafted and carefully executed by myself. Some days my plans work and some days I fail in a big way. I am a private person who talks for a living, but rarely invites anyone into my world. I’m banking on Ms. Markel and her gift for pushing boundaries to inspire me to push my own and make my own history. By the way, the moment the “formal” living room is furnished ans decorated, I doubt anyone will be invited to sit in it.

Welcome to my world. Enjoy the journey. I am writing my novel titled “Bespoke”.

img_4551

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑