Opinion or Critique

I am extremely opinionated, but I leave professional critiques of historic pieces of couture to those qualified to critique it.

Unlike so many less educated people, I have learned the distinct difference between having a personal opinion and having the learned ability to accurately and professionally critique something or anything. So, please allow me to share my opinion regarding the numerous buffoons who falsely believe they are qualified to critique Meghan Markle’s chosen wedding gown. The world over, on such distinguished sites such as Facebook and Twitter, numerous women are lamenting on the simplicity of The Duchess of Sussex’s choice of wedding gown as if their opinion matters.

In order not to write something I will regret almost immediately, I will keep this brief.

It is my opinion that the wedding gown was a magnificent article of couture worn beautifully and effortlessly by Meghan Markle. It is also my opinion that the gown suited her apparent classic and elegant style. Yet, even though I am not a couturier, the detail of folds and the drape of the gown did not pass my notice nor did the pure white silk material and the lace embroidered veil.

The bespoke gown by the House of Givenchy was not adorned in crystals or pearls or  vintage lace, but the pure white silk was certainly not simple, nor was the Cartier jewels that accompanied the gown or the woman who wore it.

What I do find simple are the minds of most who have “critiqued” the choice of gown based on the fact that it did not glitter or glow and wasn’t bedazzled. For God’s sake, Meghan Markle is a real person who became royalty and it wasn’t her lack of attention to detail that propelled her from a commoner to a Duchess.

So, if  you are looking for a dress that lights up, sparkles, and is highly ornamented, take a trip to Disney. Although, the last time I noticed, Cinderella’s ball gown was relatively modest, born of rags and designed by her fairy Godmother. If you can’t comprehend the elegance and message of Meghan Markle’s wedding gown and the quality and style of the House of Givenchy, book a trip to Florida, sit on the sidewalk, wait for the Disney princesses on parade and find fulfillment in dresses that are lit up with light bulbs! Perhaps, the Duchess of Sussex should have worn a gown you plug-in? All of this, is my opinion, as of course, I am not qualified to critique couture.

2 thoughts on “Opinion or Critique

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑